本文へスキップ

Nakayama is between Narita And Haneda International Airport

中山・下総・散歩道

Myoeisan Myokoji Temple in Gyotoku

the weeping cherry tree and the gatethe weeping cherry tree and the main hall
On Naritamichi Road with a great deal of atmosphere, there is a red sanmon gate with a kawaii thick thatched roof at the end of the approach road paved with stones. The gate is Sanmon Gate at Myoeisan Myokoji Temple designated as the municipal cultural property of Ichikawa City. It gives much nostalgic feelings since it looks like a gate of a temple in country side. Sanmon gate is suitable for many dignified Japanese style housings stand along and there is a beautiful temple's garden with trimmed trees well organized through it. And visitors enjoy seeing a beautiful weeping cherry blossoms blooming in spring. Myoeisan Myokoji Temple is the beautiful temple with its long history.
Why don't you visit Myoeisan Myokoji Temple?

Myoeisan Myokoji Temple

the main hall viewing through the gatethe garden in Myokoji Temple

The History of Myoeisan Myokoji Temple

The Temple is called Myoeisan Myokoji Temple built in 1565 by Ichhijo Ajari Nissen Hoin who studied under one of disciple of the venerable Nichten, the 11th abbot of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple. And the leading supporter of the temple was Kiyohisa Garasuke Shinoda who was one of vassals of Hojo Family in Odawara and was a descendant of Chida Family belonging to Chiba Clan.
Kiyohisa Garasuke Shinoda who was a lord of a manor was given Myoden area by the Hojo Family as rewards after the victory of the second Battle at Konodai in 1564 as he stood and supported the family.
The area name 'Myoden' was named that it would be a precious land like the Lotus Sutra that the founder Nichiren had chanted '南無妙法蓮華経 (Namu Myo Ho Renge Kyo)'.


The Landmrks of Myoeisan Myokoji Temple

Sanmon Gate of Myoeisan Myokoji Temple was built in 1761 by the venerable Kanjuin Nichishu. It was designated as the Municipal Cultural Property of Ichikawa City in 1968 and it was completely repaired in March 1997.

Soren no Mandala that the venerable Nichijo (1213-1299) the first abbot of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple had given to Sone Gyobu in 1297, the caligraphies written by the venerable Nikko (1257-1314) the 2nd and the venerable Jokoin Nichiyu (1298-1374) the 3rd abbot of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple, the mandala drawn in 1599 by the venerable Ichijo Ajari Nissen the founder of Myoeisan Myokoji Temple, and Munefuda (a wooden record of construction) are carefully preserved.


妙榮山妙好寺門前案内板より
市川市ホームページ

Sanmon Gate in Myoeisan Myokoji Temple

Sanmon Gate of Myoeisan Myokoji Templethe thatched roof of Sanmon Gate

Sanmon Gate in Myoeisan Myokoji Temple Designated as the Muncipal Cultural Asset of Ichikawa City

Sanmon Gate in Myoeisan Myokoji Temple was built in 1761 by the venerable Nichishu the 12th chief priest of this temple.
The structure of the gate is called Kirizuma Kayabuki Yon Kyakumon that it has 4 pillars with single story thatched gable roof. The most part of it was built by zelkova and painted in red. The tops of the pillars were carved curved sharpen shape called Chimaki in Japanese. And the architectural designs called Mitsudo used on upper part and Ita Kaerumata in the middle were used in and there were decorated by some sculpture Kashira Nuki Kibana, Koryo and Kobushi Bana on them. This architectural style shows the featuers in late Edo period. Since there are few sanmon gates with thatched roofs in Ichikawa City and this gate also has the records of constructing date, Sanmon Gate in Myoeisan Myokoji Temple is very precious and it was designated as a municipal cultural property of Ichikawa City in 1968.
From June 1996 to March 1997, Sanmon Gate had been repaird. First, it started as partly repairing since the gate had lean to one side and the bases of the pillars had been decayed, but it changed that it was torn down and repaired to reconstruct completely. To remain the original parts, some of decayed parts were cut out and some new materials organized with traditional technologies called Tsugiki (adding new woods), Umeki (some pieces of woods putting into some cracks on woods) and Hagiki (pieces of woods combined to fix into the repairing parts) to added on. Moreover, the sanmon gate was raised since the heights of cornerstones were risen up with the land around for long years. After the investigation, the stone paved approach road had stretched to the gate in the early years, and it was found that the gate had been painted with red ocher and shoen (black color made from pine tree) and Sanmon Gate was reconstructed accordingly with the investigation.

平成12年3月
市川市教育委員会

妙榮山妙好寺山門前案内板より


抜粋・引用および参考文献
妙榮山妙好寺門前案内板
妙榮山妙好寺山門前案内板
市川市ホームページ

The Map to Myokoji Temple

  • Myoeisan Myokoji Temple has a great accessibility from both Narita and Haneda International Airport.
  • From Narita International Airport, take JR Sobu-express line, transfer the line at Nishi-funabashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nakano or Mitaka, get off Myoden Sta. And also take Keisei-line, transfer the line at Funabashi to Sobu-Local line, and transfer the line at Nishi-funabashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nakano or Mitaka, get off Myoden Sta. It takes minimally 60 minutes from Narita Airport.
  • From Haneda International Airport, take Keikyu-line bound to Narita, transfer the line at Nihonbashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nishifunabashi, Tsudanuma or Katsutadai, get off Myoden Sta.
  • From Tokyo (Otemachi) Sta, take Tozai line of Tokyo Metro bound to Nishi-funabashi, Tsudanuma or Katsutadai, get off Myoden Sta.
  • From Akihabara Sta, take Sobu line bound to Chiba, Tsudanuma or Nishi Funabashi, transfer the line at Nishifunabashi to Tozai line of Tokyo Metro, get off Myoden Sta.
  • Take 10 minute walk from Myoden Sta.
Myoeisan Myokoji Temple
1-11-10 Myoden, Ichikawa-shi, Chiba-ken

The Noted Spots along Naritamichi Road

myokoji temple and a cherry tree

Myokoji Temple