The Yonsoku-mon Gate In Nakayama Hokekyo-ji
Hokekyoji Yonsoku-mon Gate; The Important Cultural Property Designated
by National Government
Date of Designation; May 24th of Taisho 5th (1916)
Date of Construction; Late Muromachi Period
Architectural Structure; Four-pillar Gate with hip-and-gable roofing covered with shingles only
The four pillar gate is called Yonsoku-mon, means that the gate has four
legs. It was told that the gate might be that of Aizen-do at Kamakura
in Kanagawa Prefecture
moved to here in Nakayama. First it used to be the main gate to the main
hall in Hokekyo-ji Temple. In Meiji Era, it was set on the place now on.
Considering of the architectural structure, it seemed to be built in late
This gate is built with purely Zen-Sect style. The gate was designed with
very rare structure that the main pillar stretched out nearly to the ridge
and sub pillars stood on the both back and forth of the it are joined with
the strong carved beam called Rainbow-shaped tie beams. There are no gate
seen in Japan like this unique pillar that the shape of it is ellipse in
In addition, the gate with decorated with many sculptures is another feature,
it presents well patterns and shapes on were frequently used each in late
. The decorations carved to be seen from the front only, therefore this
gate originally connected with walls on both side. And Japanese style flat
windows were adopted in its fixture to be given structural change. The
pillars and beams were made with zelkova, and others were with hinoki cypress,
cedar and cherry wood.
The Yonsoku-mon gate was tore down and repaired in Showa 10th (1935) and
almost all materials used on it were changed new one, but some materials
could be used on were reused in it to restore the cultural property as
possible as its original.
Yonsoku-mon Gate and the Droop Plam Blossoms
The Map to Yonsokumon Gate In Nakayama Hokekyoji
Yonsokumon Gate In Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple
- Yonsokumon Gate in Nakayama Hokekyouji Temple has great accessibilities from both Narita and Haneda International Airport.
- From Narita International Airport, take Keisei-line and get off Keisei-Nakayama Sta, take minimally 40 minutes from Narita Airport.. And also take JR Sobu-express line, transfer the line at Funabashi to Sobu-Local line, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- From Haneda International Airport, take Keikyu-line bound to Narita, and get off Keisei-Nakayama Sta.
- From Tokyo Sta, take Sobu-Express line bound to Chiba or Narita, transfer the line to Sobu-Local line bound to Chiba, Tsudanuma, or Nishi-Funabashi at Ichikawa Sta, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- From Akihabara Sta, take Sobu line bound to Chiba, get off Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- Take 5 minute walk from Keisei-Nakayama Sta, and take 8 minutes walk from Shimousa-Nakayama Sta.
- 2-10-1 Nakayama, Ichikawa-shi, Chiba-pref, Japan
The Landmarks in Nakayama Hokekyouji Temple
Takikyakuden is the main hall of Hokekyoji and it has the business office and Kishibojindo Hall dedicated to the goddess of children on the end of the long corrido of the main hall.
In spring, there is millions of cherry blossoms in Hokekyoji and in summer, lotus blooms on ryuo-ike pond. In fall, there are beautiful colored leaves. Every season, visitors could enjoy seeing the sights.
It is characterized the twin hip-and-gable roof structure (hiyoku-irimoya-style), and hengaku written by Koetsu Honami hangs in front.
It was built in early Edo period (1622) by request of Koshitsu Honami supported by Maeda Family in Kaga.
It was built in Kamakura period.
It was moved from Aizen-dou in Kamakura 700 years ago.
It was designed by the famous architect Chuta Ito, it stores many scripts
written by the Founder Nichiren.
It enshrines Kiyomasa Kato, one of the most famous daimyo in Sengoku period.
From Nov 1 to Feb 10, hundreds of Buddhist priests practice severly every year.
The henguku hunged in front of the gate was written by Koetsu Honami, famous artist in Momoyama Period.
It was built for worshipping Jurasetsunyo, Kishibozin, Daikokusama.
It is also called Sou-mon (the main gate).
The founder Nichiren built the small shrine to dedicate the dragon god to pray for rain.
It enshrins Ugazin who is the guardian deity of Hokekyou-ji Temple.
It dedicates Hokushin Myouken Star that the Chiba Family deeply believed in, Hokekyoji traditionally succeeds. In November, Tori-no-ich is held in the site to dedicate the star.
The founder Nichiren preached first time at the Toki's castle called Wkakamiya Yakata. And Toki built a temple 'Hokkeji', it is the origin of Oku no In.
It was built in 1719 by famous caster Ota Suruga-no-kami in Kanda. It is the bigest great Buddha in Chiba prefecture.
Nichijo was the first abbot of Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple and Naki Icho is a gingko tree having a sad legend.
There are some other landmarks in Nakayama Hokekyoji Temple.
Koetsu Honami specially remained his calligraphy in Hokekyo-ji Temple, and Shiki Masaoka, Kafu Nagai discribed it well.
Cherry blossoms in Hokekyoji are amazingly wonderful.